The rock Brúarhlöð consists of is Breccia, a type of rock formed by tectonic and volcanic forces, which gives the canyon its unique look. A spectacular view over the canyon can be enjoyed when one hikes up a short path towards the left, which leads to a natural observation point.
One should be careful, however, since there areno barriers and the wind can be as powerful as the river below. For people who are less fond of heights, there’s also the option of simply walking down to the shore of Hvitá, where once can overlook most of the canyon. Furthermore, it’s fun to climb uponto the rock formations towards the right side of the canyon, where one might even spot some lambagras, or moss campion, as the small, purple flowers are known.
Moreover, the history behind the location is as interesting as its geological peculiarities: A first bridge over Hvitá near Brúarhlöð was built in the year 1906 but destroyed in the winter of 1929 and a second bridge was destroyed the following year. The current bridge was built in 1959 and has been used not only to cross by car, but by horseback as well, still a popular way to explore the area surrounding Brúarhlöð. Nowadays, a popular way of exploring the canyon is by river rafting. Before a new bridge over Hvitá was built in 2010, all travellers had to cross the bridge next to Brúarhlöð. Nowadays, most people cross Hvitá by means of the new bridge, which serves as an important connection between Flúðir and Reykholt. Thus, Brúarhlöð became a hidden gem that most people drive past without realizing what a stunning natural site they’re missing out on. Brúarhlöð is not a lonesome place, though, as it is rumored that two of the big stacks in the canyon are actually two trolls called Karl and Kerling, who watch over the area.